reflections on “what is twitter” presentation

The slides have been embedded below – presentation for LTEO Meeting, 3 April, 2008.
Some initial thoughts from myself was that I didn’t actually show it 🙂 So I need to include a screengrab atleast. This would help people understand the followers / following idea, and how messages are displayed.  This might help significantly with the two scenarios. I might need to re-think the use of BBC bit … I’m not sure if that actually adds to the presentation, it needs to be better linked, it was suppose to help set the context … ummmmm, need to think about this.

Some questions from the floor prompt further work, displaying the idea that you can follow tags / keywords and not people. And addressing the idea that 140 characters is a positive.

As with everything it takes far longer than it should do … re-visit what I’m actually trying to achieve.

I also need to update the slides to include notes …

Question – what did others think, constructive criticism please 🙂 Where the aims appropriate, would might we need for the presentation to be more effective? what worked, what didn’t? – please use the comments

5 comments

  1. Lindsay Jordan

    A quick tour of Twitter itself would have helped those who couldn’t visualise how it all worked – but what would have been fantastic is to demonstrate why it can be useful – for example, to click on a twitterer like academicdave (Dave Parry), to show their recent updates to the group and to (hopefully) demonstrate that their updates, and those of their ‘followees’ are peppered with ‘hooks’ that various people will find interesting and may want to explore further.

  2. alexfurr

    I thought it was very interesting – it certainly promoted discussion during lunch. I agree screen shots would have been good.

    I can see the power it has for staff, but I can’t imagine undergradutes using it outside their usual social networks. Although other resources such as Facebook *can* be used for teaching (and students often setup their own learning networks outside the usual VLE) it is NOT a learning tool as such.

    Will be interesting to see the uptake of such technology.

  3. Roger Gardner

    Hi Andy

    I thought it was a valuable session, and a range of those present were able to contribute which was good. Timing was fine as was the balance between your input discussion. I agree that showing Twitter would have been a useful orientation for those who hadn’t seen it. Perhaps a live demo with a couple of people showing how an interaction might work. Also it would have been good to capture the ideas people came up with somehow ( via scribe or interactive whiteboard for example ?) You might have done this, I’m not sure. Perhaps some concrete examples of use in L & T might have been interesting.

  4. Roger Gardner

    In my previous comment sentence 2 should read: Timing was fine as was the balance between your input and discussion.

  5. Ellie Clewlow

    The presentation stimulated some interesting thinking for me on how one identifies the tools that suit particular personal/professional styles of communication – essentially, what questions do I need to ask of myself and of the tools I am evaluating in order to ensure a good match?

    In terms of suggestions for the future – and this is a minor point – might you consider other sources for a definition of Twitter? Wikipedia does not always have the soundest reputation in academic circles, and that may get in the way of the effectiveeness of the presentation as a whole(although my own preferred sources: OED etc, are a little behind the times here so I’m not sure I have an alternative suggestion to make!).

Leave a Reply

