HELF – iTouch – Part 1

I’ve volunteered myself to present for a few minutes on how I (as a Head of e-Learning) use my iTouch in my working life. I’ll weave the narrative around the framework we use in the “what can e-learning do for me” seminar, ie., what purpose does the technology serve?

  • Communicative
  • Collaborative
  • Reflective
  • Productive (student)
  • Presentational
  • Interactive (student course material)
  • Administration

I’ll look at a number of mobile web sites and specific mobile apps, and explain why I use them. It is important to remember the iTouch is wi-fi only. Therefore, you are reliant on being able to access a wi-fi nework. Also it does not have a camera.

The apps I’ll be developing a narrative around are those which enable me to access cloud apps, which I currently use. Very few of them (if any) are actually specific to the iTouch. This is strongly influenced by the functionality (or lack) of the device

For instance, in the first phase I’ll be looking to road test the following;

  • WordPress Blog
  • Notemaster (connects to Google Docs)
  • NetVibes
  • Dropbox
  • TweetDeck
  • Google Apps
Leave a Reply

